Today was my 25th birthday. I was at work when the clock struck midnight and into my birthday. I got a $5 gift certificate to use in the cafeteria for my bday and blew my money on some popcorn and a Haagen-Dazs ice cream. I had a 'real' lunch before I stuffed my face with this junk, but it's my birthday so I can eat what I want to! :p After work, Jim surprised with the breakfast that I've been CRAVING for weeks! Spam, rice and eggs! Yummm. Definitely another pregnancy craving. He read my mind... I was going to stop by the store this morning after work to pick up some spam, so he had to ruin the surprise and tell me not to because he already had bought it last night and was making it for me for breakfast! :) Then I went to sleep for a few hours, got up to make up some new Zumba routines for my class, then taught my regular Wednesday night Zumba class. Speaking of which, I don't know how long I'll be able to keep at it.. I am starting to get really tired in class! I'm thinking I'll probably go another month or hopefully maybe two, but then just take it easy on the exercise with nice family walks and bike rides until after baby comes. :) So anyway, pretty much a normal Wednesday for me, but tomorrow Jim is taking a 1/2 day off work so we can spend some quality family time together, then our good friend agreed to babysit Abigail so we can go out for a nice dinner to celebrate my birthday! I truly feel so lucky to live the life I live. I've never worked harder in my life (and it's only about to get harder) but I'm starting to reap the benefits of it and it makes it worth it.
24 was an awesome year of life for me... at the beginning of my 24th year, Abigail was just about 3 months old and I had been back to work for a month and a half already. It was very difficult for me to leave her (still is some days) but had to. :( Adjusting as new mom with a relatively new career was hard to balance and still is, but I'm taking it one day at a time. We also moved into our home that we plan on being in for the next 20+ years and I recently just got hired with my dream job working in postpartum with the mommies and babies! So life is GOOD. :)
25 is going to get even crazier... I recently decided to go back to school to get my BSN. If I don't go back now, I don't think I'll ever get the motivation to. I know it is going to be a tough next couple years with work, school and becoming the mom of 2, but with lots of trust in God and support from my family, I know I will get through it. On top of that, I am starting to picking up shifts at work. With me getting unpaid maternity leave AGAIN (besides the few weeks of pto and sick time I have accrued) and going back to school, we need to save up.
I feel like 25 will be the most exciting, rewarding and difficult year of my life yet. I am so grateful to have Jim by my side through it all. I am being proactive and making changes in my life. Instead of hoping for this or envying that, I am doing something about it. I feel like I'm starting to finally become an adult. I'm taking on more responsibility (while trying not to complain), trying to manage my time, while savoring all the precious moments I have with my little family. <3

No comments:
Post a Comment