We are motivated more than ever to get Abigail eating solids on a consistent/daily basis. She is just shy of 7 months (will be on the 8th) and she is still only drinking breastmilk for her nutrition. Part of me feels guilty, like I should've started to introduce solids earlier, but then I think- the American Academy of Pediatrics recommends babies should be exclusively breastfed for the first 6 months of life.. so then I don't feel too behind. But I am also worried because since her only source of nutrition has been my milk, I am now running low! :( We have been going through our frozen stash since I am just not producing enough to keep up and now there are only about 10-15 5oz frozen bags left... I am trying to pump more, but I still fee like I am not catching up. :( Today we finally had a breakthrough and Abigail actually enjoyed her solid foods! So far Abigail has tried rice and oatmeal cereal (neither of which she cared for), avocado (which she seemed to eat half of what was given the 2nd time but since has lost interest in avocado), carrots (first time today, did not like them), banana (likes them if they are very ripe) and pear (first time today, likes them too). I read you should only introduce 1 food at a time, at a rate of every several days, but since she didn't like the foods she's already tried, I tried a couple new foods today. I am hoping tomorrow will continue to go well when it comes to feeding Abigail solids. Here are some super cute pictures from today of Abigail eating!

Breakfast = carrots. The only way she took some carrots was if she drank a little bit of her bottle right after eat spoonful. Otherwise, she would just spit everything out. :/ Will try carrots again tomorrow...
Lunch = banana. She loved this ripe banana! The first day we bought the bananas (few days ago) I tried feeding her some and she did not like it. I guess it wasn't ripe enough for her yet. I'm glad she finally took a liking to something that was a solid!
Dinner = pear. Since she liked the banana from today, I assumed that she would also like the pear. And I was right! ;)
Abigail admiring all the pretty lights and ornaments on our tree tonight. :)
No comments:
Post a Comment